The European Union adopt sanctions against Russia after Navalny’s death


The 27 member states of the European Union decided to impose sanctions on 30 Russian individuals and entities after the death of political opposition figure Alexei Navalny in prison, according to what European Union foreign affairs chief Josep Borrell announced Monday.

“We agreed to impose sanctions against all those responsible for the killing of Alexei Navalny,” Borrell said at the end of a meeting of European foreign ministers in Brussels.

Borrell didn’t reveal the identity of the individuals or entities involved in this procedure.

These sanctions, similar to those taken by the United States and Canada, provide for freezing assets in the European Union and banning individuals from entering the bloc’s countries.

On February 23, the United States announced the largest batch of sanctions since the Russian invasion of Ukraine in February 2022, some of which were against three Russian officials for their involvement in the death of the Russian opposition figure Navalny who died on February 16 in his prison in the Arctic.

On March 3, Canada announced sanctions against six employees of the judicial and prison system in Russia.

Share it...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *